Responsible for intolerance in about 1% of the population in France, gluten, a set of proteins contained mainly in cereals, is very present in our current diet.
To limit the symptoms (abdominal pain, chronic diarrhea, fatigue, etc.), it is essential to eliminate certain foods. Here are the ones that contain the most gluten.
Gluten is a protein that is found in particular in barley, rye, or wheat. This is why the bread is very provided with it. It is also gluten, which means “glue” or “gum” in Latin, which is responsible for the elasticity of bread dough.
Made from wheat, pasta is also on the list of foods to avoid in case of intolerance. But it is very easy to find on the market pasta prepared with rice flour, and which therefore does not contain gluten. Same for the bread.
In the alcoholic beverages department, we can mention beer. This drink is made of water, yeasts, and cereals which contain the famous group of proteins. The most commonly used in brewing are barley, wheat, and rye. But then again, there are plenty of gluten-free beers on the market.
Who says football match on TV, says beer/pizza combo. But those who cannot consume a traditional beer due to intolerance, will not be able to console themselves with a good pizza, because its dough is a source of gluten.
Biscuits, rusks, and other pastries are the stars of breakfast. But you should know that these foods also contain a lot of gluten. In the morning, bet instead on eggs or a bowl of cottage cheese with olegaine fruits.